My social media journey

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 5.25.29 PM

This semester I have been working on making my social media presence stronger through twitter.

I first created an account in January and have been keeping up with it by posting about the events I attend and cover, as well as retweeting my classmates’ work. Not to mention that I now follow major news outlets from which I retweet important news every once in a while.

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 5.30.00 PM

So far, I have gained a total of 53 followers and I am currently following 165 accounts. My method of using twitter has proved to be working for me. Back in February I was contacted through this medium with an offer to contribute for a website, for which I then covered the Oscars. The plan is for me to work on stories for the cultural section of the site.

Although to some it might seem that I waited too long to work on my social media presence, I think waiting was the right thing to do. I wanted to make sure that I had enough experience in order to manage my accounts in a responsible way, and I think so far I’m doing good.

For the upcoming weeks, I have been working on creating an about me page that I can use for networking events, among others.

However, at the moment, I refuse to use facebook nor Instagram for journalism purposes.  I somehow don’t feel comfortable with the idea. But who knows? maybe this will change in the future.

In the meantime, I will just link this funny video of a sassy cat that I posted on my twitter account a while ago.

Leave a Reply

