Expanding my social media presence with JRN 320

Social media has been something I have been a part of since I was 15 years old. It’s always been a part of my life. However, in those years I realized its quite hard for someone to “go viral.”

I’ve learned quite a bit about the usefulness of social media sites like Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, etc. in the recent years since I came into college. After working a job as a social media manager for

My Twitter analytics for this semester so far/screenshot by Maddy Marcus
My Twitter analytics for this semester so far/screenshot by Maddy Marcus

a successful company and interning at a public relations firm, I definitely was able to find my way around better than ever before. After joining The Independent, I saw how important sharing stories on social media can be for a journalist in today’s online world. It helps you get known in the world, it helps by putting a you out there. Social media also helps stories get views, which in turn, benefits the publication a journalist is working for.

To be completely honest, when I took JRN 320, I already knew a lot about social media from my own experiences and research. Nothing really changed for me. I still use Facebook the least out of all social media websites and I only grew by a few followers on Twitter.  I try to tweet more about world events, show reviews, stories I’ve written and my general opinion on news rather than use it for a personal account like I have in the past.

I can say, however, that I did start sharing stories that I wrote or produced at The Independent or in class a lot more than I did in previous semesters. I have also gained back that edge to fix up my own personal wordpress blog that has been in the making for a few years now.

So in a sense,  I’m not sure if anyone can ever stop learning about the most efficient ways of using social media. The Internet is constantly changing, so we as journalists must do the same.

Leave a Reply

