A variety of news and subjects on WNYC

I am familiar with WNYC on television since the television signal makes it out here. Ironically, I live on Long Island.

I never ventured to see what else WNYC had other than television and, yes I know, radio, which I knew of as well. Rarely have I gone onto the outlet’s website. I managed to find podcasts for different shows. Some podcasts were news and others were beats.

New Tech City

NTC_Logos_FINAL_200x200

This is one of those podcasts that were beats I mentioned. The show is hosted by Manoush Zomorodi, who has a history of reporting news related to technology, and is centric toward the subject of technology. I only listened to one podcast that was about young kids using technology.

//www.wnyc.org/widgets/ondemand_player/newtechcity/#file=%2Faudio%2Fxspf%2F436076%2F

It was a sensitive topic, but I believe she pulled it off. I like how the story flowed and the focus was around a teacher who taught technology. Kids are hard to interview as they may give one word answers or aren’t concise, but Zomorodi managed to make these kids open up. What did surprise me was how the show operated like a real radio station show. Around the nine to 10 minute mark, there was an advertisement. I thought that since this was a recorded show for playback, there would be none of that. I’m guessing this is done because WNYC receives financial contributions from advertisers to sustain itself. Overall, the piece was a great one, informative, it held my attention because of how the story transitioned and I would listen to this show more often.

The Brian Lehrer Show

TheBrianLehrerShow_2

I’m familiar with Brian Lehrer, but have not listened to much of his work. At first I thought he was related to Jim Lehrer because of the last name. I don’t think they are. This podcast was a news show. The episode I listened to was called “Realpolitik in the Middle East.”

//www.wnyc.org/widgets/ondemand_player/wnyc/#file=%2Faudio%2Fxspf%2F440677%2F

It operated like an actual radio news show. it contained audio clips of people related to the stories he covered and had invited guests speak. The invited speaker spoke for a few minutes on different occasions. It would have been better, I think, if Lehrer broke into certain points to ask follow-up questions. The tone of Lehrer sounded opinionated at times. There were other speakers invited to speak and a debate went going. Aside from it being a news show, it was more of a discussion show. All sides made their point in a coherent manner.

Leave a Reply

