Why did I chose journalism?

If you has asked me 6 years ago what I was going to be doing with my life, I probably would not have come up with Stony Brook and maybe not even journalism.

I was one of those people who just did not like school, it was not for me. I could have been a lot smarter than my grades demonstrated, but I did not try, because I did not care.

I did not even want to attend college. One time at the beginning of senior year my friend asked me if I applied to college yet. I shook my head no.

“Kryssy! Come on,. we are applying at Suffolk,” she told me.

So, I attended Suffolk County Community College for 2 years and majored in general studies. What I did always enjoy though was writing. Growing up I was always writing, making up crazy stories. I was always the kid who would sit everybody down and have to tell them a story that I made up.

At first I thought that I might become a writer, I wanted to write books. Then I began to think. I enjoyed photography, though I was incredibly amateur at first, and I loved to talk to people. I’m very blunt when talking to people and I am not afraid to ask them personal questions.

All of this combined led me to journalism. I want to be the person who knows the story and is able to tell it to everyone. So at Suffolk I joined one of the papers, The Western Student Press. This was not the well-known campus publication, but that was probably better because to be honest I had no idea what I was doing. I was not taking any journalism classes at Suffolk.

So I wrote for this paper for about a year and all of my stories were published, I also took photos for them. I realized that this was something I really enjoyed and that when I graduated Suffolk I was either going to major in journalism or communications.

I knew that I needed to stay close to home for college because I have two jobs that I wanted to keep. When the time came I was torn between attending Hofstra to major in communications and public relations or Stony Brook for journalism. Ultimately, Stony Brook was way cheaper.

So Stony Brook it was. To be honest, I did not love it at first. However, I really grew to love it here and to love what I was doing. It’s a lot of work, but I would not have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

