The best in my own backyard: Why I chose the SBU School of Journalism

I have always loved seeing new places and meeting new people. Journalism is the only profession I can think of that includes both of those things and would allow me to earn a living by doing it.

My mom has always watched the news, and therefore I watched it from a young age. I remember every morning growing up seeing Matt Lauer and Ann Curry’s travels on the Today Show.

The light in my head that made me want to go into journalism however, went off while I was watching my favorite television show, Gilmore Girls.

Rory Gilmore, one of the show’s main characters was on her high school paper and went on to study journalism at Yale University. Rory, like myself wanted to see the world and tell stories. Her inspiration was Christiane Amanpour. At one point, she got to meet the journalist on the show and referred to her as being “in a foxhole,” so from when I learned what that was at age 10, I have wanted nothing more than to do that for myself, even if my parents aren’t too fond of the idea.

My dream is to be a foreign correspondent, and I realized that was a true possibility when I heard Christiane Amanpour speak at Stony Brook University in 2013 when I was a senior in high school, at the opening lecture for the Marie Colvin Center for International Reporting.

Living in Port Jefferson my entire life made Stony Brook familiar and a possibility, but I thought I wanted to get away from Long Island. Visiting the School of Journalism and seeing what they had to offer made my decision rather easy.

The visit helped me learn that I didn’t have to go to an Ivy League school to learn the skills that I would need to be successful in the journalism field. I would be getting hands on experience from established journalists at a school that was in my own backyard.

And if we’re being honest, I would miss my dog way too much if I went away to school, even though she bites.

Leave a Reply

