Journalism, far and beyond

When I was in kindergarten, I wanted to be a conductor on the Long Island Rail Road. When I was in middle school, I wanted to be a meteorologist. From then onward, that was my set plan. Back then, I would watch The Weather Channel for weather reports and shows. One show was “Storm Stories,” which featured personal stories from people who experienced violent weather first hand.

That was the plan for college, I had my plans focused. Eventually, I found out all the math involved in high school. Not being a math person, I knew it would not be best for me. Still, I had an interest in it. At the same time, I started watching and reading news. Even before then, my family would watch the local and national Univision newshows in the evening. One of the anchors, Rafael Pineda, was the longest serving anchor- surpassing Chuck Scarborough- and the one I remember the most. It was upsetting when he retired back in December 2013.

My interest in journalism peaked at this point. I don’t know what it was, and I don’t know how to explain it either, but something just sparked. My interest in meteorology was plummeting and my interest in journalism rose. I still did have some interest in meteorology and thought that maybe I could do something with it, but now it was journalism that I wanted to study. I appreciated how I could learn basic knowledge of a range of topics such as politics, science, health, business and among other topics without needing to go to schools designated for these subjects.

I first attended Suffolk Community College and declared a communications/journalism major. I did not really do much journalism there and I did not until I arrived at my last year there. I took a few journalism reporting classes that year, one class that was considered an “internship class,” which was reporting on the happenings around the Ammerman Campus of the college. It saved me rom having to take JRN:288.

I planned to transfer to another school after graduating from Suffolk, but I did not know where. I was considering commuting to the city, but I was informed of Stony Brook University’s school of journalism, and was told how great its journalism program was by some of my professors. I looked into it and thought why not? It beat commuting to the city and paying an exorbitant amount of money on commuting to the city and was not far from my home either.

I got accepted into Stony Brook’s journalism program and was excited. I think I was more excited that I got accepted somewhere. It was going to be a challenge for me, coming from the community college environment, but through orientation, I felt at ease.

Through each semester since then and up to this point, there have been laudable moments and moments of stress. In the end, I found it all worth it. I have met new people from various places and background who have impacted me in positive ways. I feel like I would not have felt this camaraderie if I were in another school, such as the medical school, where the student body is immense. I hope to pursue a career in the broadcast journalism in the future. I also hope to stay in contact with those I have met during my time here so far.

The J-school is like my second home and family. We all go through joys and stresses together, but none of us are ever alone. I can only imagine what the upcoming semesters will provide me.

 

Leave a Reply

