Why I chose journalism at Stony Brook University

Photo from newscaststudio.com

I have a pretty weird reason for becoming a journalism student.  I had originally wanted to go to school for communications and was going to go to City College of New York, but came to Stony Brook University to remain close to home instead.  Since Stony Brook doesn’t have a communications major, I decided to do journalism because it was similar.

The reason I wanted to study communications/journalism is because I have always wanted to be on TV.  I wanted to be an actress when I was younger, and when I decided that wasn’t going to happen, I decided I still wanted to do something revolving around TV.

What I really want to do is be a correspondent on E! News or Good Morning America.  I love entertainment news and fashion, so being a red carpet reporter is something I would really enjoy doing.

This semester, I am finally taking some broadcasting classes and even though it is hard news, rather than entertainment that I would prefer, I still am enjoying it more than I did my writing class.  Being on camera is fun, but kind of daunting.  I am very critical of myself, but who isn’t?

Even though this is not what I originally wanted to go to school for― or what I wanted to be when I “grew up”― I am glad that I have chosen Stony Brook’s School of Journalism, because I have required a set of skills that I never would have acquired elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

