Spread the word: why I chose journalism

Growing up with our access to the majority of the world’s knowledge held up in front of our faces, with the ability to share that information with anyone you’ve ever known has proven to be pretty great in my opinion. Optimus Prime would tell you that “knowing is half the battle,” and he’s right. How can anyone act if they’re not informed? This was a thought process I’ve been governed by for as long as I can remember. The symmetry between that mindset and one of the key tenets of News Literacy was something that stuck with me when I took it my freshman year, even if I didn’t realize until nearly three years later that I’d appreciated that class.

When I came to Stony Brook as a freshman, my intentions were to design medicine and make bank. Though it turned out that my work ethic was not conducive to a study-heavy venture like a B.A. in biochemistry, I knew for sure that I wanted to write about scientific research whether in a journal, or anywhere else, as long as I could help spread scientific knowledge. But I also knew I didn’t want to be boring. No doubt I was inspired by ample time spent voluntarily watching the Discovery Channel and Bill Nye the Science Guy as a child, though, once again, I didn’t realize until later how much I’d take away from them, along with a lot of middle and high school science professors who imbued me with the baseline of knowledge I’d need to keep up with scientific research and advancements at least as an observer.

Journalism seemed the best route for someone like me, who likes to both gather a broad base of information, and share that information with anyone who cares to know it. Working for a news outlet puts someone in a unique position to tell people something they didn’t know before, and tell it to them with no tilt – political, religious or other. And most people, judging by the thirst for customizable streams of information via social media, want to learn or see something new pretty often. And while my career goals primarily involve reporting on research, health, technological developments, etc., after taking a decent number of journalism classes, I’ve developed an appreciation for reporting on most any topic, as long as people want to or should know about it.

Leave a Reply

